EMS Follow-Up Requests

Service Area 1A

In October 2016, the Bureau of Emergency and Trauma Services (BETS) created new service areas throughout the state for the purpose of fostering a coordinated effort among local partners to improve planning and response to time-critical conditions. In doing so, they have combined grant funding from Hospital Preparedness (HPP), Public Health Emergency Preparedness (PHEP) and EMS System Development to be administered by each service area. These rules went into effect on July 1, 2017.

Service Area 1A is also known as Central Iowa Healthcare Coalition. Central Iowa Healthcare Coalition serves the counties of Adair, Boone, Carroll, Dallas, Greene, Guthrie, Jasper, Madison, Marshall, Polk, Poweshiek, Story, Tama, and Warren Counties. The total population of the counties served is approximately 950,000 residents. Primary Coalition members include hospitals, local public health, emergency management; and emergency medical services. The mission of the Central Iowa Healthcare Coalition is to foster a coordinated effort among all partners to work on improving planning for emergencies in a healthcare setting. They do this through planning together, training, information sharing, and resource sharing.

Central Iowa Healthcare Coalition Service Area 1A